Tasks contain the settings for the transactions that are run on Agents.
Access the Tasks content pane by selecting Transactions from the Navigation pane, then selecting Tasks.
The Tasks content pane appears.
In the Tasks content pane, add a task by clicking Add on the toolbar or right-clicking the grid and selecting Add from the context menu. The Add Tasks configuration window opens.
Figure 1. Add Task Configuration Window
The type of task: Script, Visual Test (Agent Recorder), or Automated check, Setup Script, or Group.
The name of the task. For active transactions using the Agent Recorder or PSscript, the task name must match the script name.
The Schedule that determines when and how often the task runs.
A description of the task. If the description is Imported, this task was imported from an external file. For more information, see Importing Transaction Definitions.
The priority of the task is used to determine the order in which scripts that are scheduled for the same interval are run. Tasks assigned a value of High take precedence over those assigned a value of Low or Medium. Consequently, scripts associated with a task with priority of High run before tasks assigned a lower priority.
(Optional) The Blackout Schedule assigned to the task.
Review the following before enabling or disabling tasks/groups.
By default, task are enabled when they are initially created.
Tasks that are enabled (Automated Check, Group, Script, Setup Script, or Visual Test) can run on the Agent(s). If the task has been added to a Group that is disabled, however, the task will not run on the Agent(s).
If a task has been added to a Group, and the Group is disabled, unless the task has been added to at least one other group that is enabled, the task will not run on the Agent(s) until its Group is enabled.
If an enabled task is undeployed, it will not run on the Agent(s).
When a task is disabled, it is prevented from running on the Agent(s). This is true even if the task's transactions have been deployed to the Agent(s) and/or the group(s) to which the task has been added have been enabled.
If a disabled task has been added to an enabled group, the group will still run, but does not run the disabled task.
If a task is enabled, but has been added to a disabled group, it is not run unless it has been added to one or more other enabled groups.
Enabling/Disable Task Groups
Enabling Task Groups
By default, when you create a group, it is enabled.
Enabled groups will run on the Agent(s) if:
The included tasks are enabled. If disabled tasks have been added to the group, only the enabled tasks are run on the Agent.
The transactions have been deployed.
When a task is disabled, it is prevented from running on the Agent(s), even if it was previously deployed to the Agent(s) and added to an enabled group.
Disabling Task Groups
If a group is disabled, its subtasks are prevented from running on the Agent(s) unless the subtasks have also been added to another, enabled group.
If a task has only been added to one group, and that group is disabled, the task will not run on the Agent(s).