cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Confirming or manipulating incidents via REST.

JamesKitson
Dynatrace Leader
Dynatrace Leader

Hello,

Our end goal is to have some way of automating the changing of incident states so that we can utilize smart alerting without accidentally missing an incident and thus missing an alert.

I have been looking into the REST interface where we can manipulate incidents but as I am relatively new to actually implementing something like this I had some questions.

1. Is it possible to change the state of multiple incidents at a time (i.e confirm all incidents over 7 days old)?
  2. To get this to run as a task on a schedule would it be required to write a plugin that utilizes the REST interface or is there some other way to automatically modify incidents?
  3. Does anyone have any better ideas on how to accomplish the end goal?

My other idea if this proves difficult is to just have a scheduled report emailed out that shows if there are any unconfirmed incidents. The downside to this would be it is still possible to miss something if all actions are manual and so this is more of a fall back.

Thanks!

James

4 REPLIES 4

graeme_william1
Inactive

James,

You can't change the state of multiple incidents at the same time. The two calls that change the state of incidents take a specific incident id as a mandatory parameter.

Yes, using a plugin running on a schedule is a reasonable way of proceeding. I like using the Generic Execution Plugin and writing whatever I want in shell / PowerShell. That way, I can debug the script outside of Dynatrace and then just drop the script into the plugin. Inside the script, you can call the REST interface via curl. One obvious caveat about this technique: the plugin runs in the Collector with whatever privileges the Collector process has.

Well, someone else might have a better idea ...

Two more caveats about the doc page at