cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dynatrace Monitoring on Docker containerized services

amitkumar
Inactive

Hi All,

I have some experience using the App Mon 6.5 and familiar with using DT client and the details i get to see using it. I am curious to know what details we get to see on the client from dockerized microservices? Do i get to see the same depth of details like monitoring a web app running on JBoss or any app servers (PurePath, SQLS, Exceptions )etc ?

Any insight would be of great help.

6 REPLIES 6

sjoerd1
Advisor

Hi Amit,

If you instrument the processes that run inside your containers (e.g. normal java processes), you will get the exact same result from PurePath perspective, and additionally you will see your docker containers as "hosts" in the infrastructure part of Dynatrace.

Actually the dynaTrace demo application "easytravel" is completely dockerized nowadays and shows perfect PurePaths 🙂

I created a simple example to show what I mean:

And in hostview:

And, when I'm already creating screenshots, also normal PurePaths 🙂

Enrico_F
Pro

One drawback I found when monitoring containers with 6.5 seems the fact that the built-in host monitoring of an agent running inside the container is not aware of any software resource limits imposed on the container itself. Depending on the container orchestration system used (OpenShift/Kubernetes in our specific case) this can be potentially confusing once your container hits its resource limits as the shown host measures (cpu, memory) are those of the underlying host/node and might be far from being exhausted.

sjoerd1
Advisor

Hi Enrico,

This is true, but you can work around that by creating a separate hostgroup in the infrastructure section, where you capture all your docker based servers. there you can set some specific thresholds for the servers to act on...