cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

This product reached the end of support date on March 31, 2021.

Monitoring local agent with docker container

markus_strickle
Inactive

Hi,

I'm currently trying to use a dockerized dynatrace to monitor an application running on my local machine (not in a docker container) using the personal license of dynatrace on OSX.

The problem is, that while I can connect my java agent to the server just fine using server=localhost the personal license doesn't allow me to use the agent. Looking at the Agent Host Address it says 172.17.0.1.

Is there any way to get this setup to work? I'm pretty new to docker, so sorry if there is an obvious answer to this.

Thanks,

Markus

13 REPLIES 13

martin_et2
Inactive

Hi Markus, I suggest you do the following: you can circumvent this problem for all containers on a single machine by having them use your host network. This means that containers will effectively inherit the host's IP address (and share the same port space). You can do so by adding a "--net=host" directive to each of your "docker run" statements.

Best, Martin

Great tip Martin.

Because of environments like yours (Containers, Virtual, ...) we also plan to extend the personal license to allow remote agent connects for a certain amount of time per month. with that folks can leverage Dynatrace AppMon Personal License even though they run their software not only on their localhost machine

Andi

markus_strickle
Inactive

Hi Martin,

thanks for the tip.

Unfortunately I couldn't get it to work, as I couldn't get the dynatrace servers to start up correctly in host network mode.

Thanks anyway,

Markus

venkatesan_kube
Participant