cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do newly monitored hosts take host units away from previously monitored Hosts

eric_eiswerth
Dynatrace Advisor
Dynatrace Advisor

Is it expected behavior to lose OneAgent connectivity on previously monitored hosts when OneAgents get installed on new hosts which require more host units than allowed in the that go over their license limits?

The license does not allow overages.

  • What is the documented behavior to support this behavior?
  • How is it determined which host will lose it's licensing?
  • How can the customer prevent monitored hosts from losing their licensing when new OneAgents try to connect? When there are multiple admins deploying OneAgents that might consume more HUs than is assigned to the license, how can Dynatrace prevent, or alert on this license overutilization?

Thank You,

Eric

1 REPLY 1

sebastian_kryst
DynaMight Leader
DynaMight Leader

In general, if you install new host it will connect normally for around 30 minutes (as I remember). After this time if license will not be available it will move to unactive state because of license quota reached. If you will restart hosts that are monitored it is possible that that out of license one will replace them in monitoring. There should not be such option that new host will eat license from operating ones without OS restart. 

 

Sebastian