cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is the funnel chart broken? Or is ist just designed that way?

r_weber
DynaMight Champion
DynaMight Champion

Though I'm a long-time Dynatrace expert, it's the first time I'm taking a detailed look at the funnel chart using USQL. I've just learned (at least it seems like it) that the funnel defined int he query has to happen exactly in that order!

For example take this funnel for an ecommerce site

Screen Shot 2021-05-19 at 17.09.00.png

It's logical that you want your customer navigate from a landingpage to product categories, product pages and eventually place them into a cart and eventually checkout. But this will barely happen in exactly that order. A shopping customer will navigate through the page, categories, products back and forth and eventually place one thing, then another one and finally maybe perform a checkout (and even during the checkout place another promoted item into the cart before completing).

I was wondering why the backend order numbers (tracked NOT via user actions but on PurePaths) were so much higher than what I could see in the funnel. (the lower RUM coverage of 25% didn't explain it). The only reason for this would be that the user journey has to happen EXACTLY in that order without any deviations? Is that correct? I fear so!

If this is the case then the funnel chart becomes rather useless for tracking user behavior...

Any other opinions?

Certified Dynatrace Master, Dynatrace Partner - 360Performance.net
3 REPLIES 3

@r_weber 
Our team works for a bank, we only introduce to the funnel only those URLs that are critical, such as login, money transfer, destination bank, transfer made and generate document. Adding a lot of URLs gets quite cluttered and the funnel focus is lost.

Best Regards!

Julius_Loman
DynaMight Legend
DynaMight Legend