cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Oracle database extension - No ability to scale deployment beyond 10 targets?

Phil_Broughton
Visitor

So a complete novice question from a newbie.

We have 500 oracle databases we would like to hook up for monitoring by Dynatrace. Using Oracle Extensions, this appears to limit us to just 10 "configurations (databases)"

What am I missing or is this simply a limitation of the extension 2.0 architecture?

8 REPLIES 8

Mizső
DynaMight Leader
DynaMight Leader

Hi @Phil_Broughton,

Maybe @dglugla could answer your question.

You can use this feedback channel:

Re: Feedback channel for the Database monitoring extensions - Dynatrace Community

I hope it helps. Have a nice day.

Best regards,

Mizső

Dynatrace Community RockStar 2024, Certified Dynatrace Professional

MateuszKacprzak
Dynatrace Helper
Dynatrace Helper

Hi @Phil_Broughton,

You can have 10 configurations but in each configuration you can configure up to 100 Oracle endpoints.

The limitation there is that defining e.g. 100 endpoints in one configuration, they must all be accessible from the ActiveGate, on which this extension is enabled.

Best regards,

Mateusz

@MateuszKacprzak Thanks, but where is that doc'd? All I am seeing is that a configuration = 1 database connection, I don't see anything about endpoints? I am using the DB Extension for Oracle here...

Mizső
DynaMight Leader
DynaMight Leader

Hi @Phil_Broughton,

This is my understading. Here is the documentation about it:

https://www.dynatrace.com/support/help/shortlink/extend-oracle#step-2

Mizs_1-1666620673606.png

Best regards,

Mizső

That's great, but doesn't then permit with any ease whatsoever the ability to remove or add an endpoint to an existing configuration once created. It looks like you have to drop all and start over which isn't flexible enough. 

You can click on ✏️ button and modify existing configuration. Then you can add or remove existing endpoints.