Container platforms
Questions about Kubernetes, OpenShift, Docker, and more.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Behavior When Disabling the “New Kubernetes Experience ”

Nakazato_IIM
Visitor

If I disable the following setting, will the new Kubernetes app become unavailable?

  • Kubernetes settings > Kubernetes app > New Kubernetes experience

If the service is unavailable...

  • Are there any other impacts besides the inability to use the new K8s app?
  • Can K8s Classic and other apps be used without any issues?
  • Will there be any data loss or similar issues?
3 REPLIES 3

dylan_taelemans
Advisor

hey @Nakazato_IIM , 

Yes, I believe the new K8s app will become unavailable (still exist, but with no or less data), but the Classic K8s app will continue to work normally.

There shouldn't be any actual data loss. Just make sure to check the following settings after disabling new experience:

K8s Classic → Settings → Monitoring settings  

dylan_taelemans_0-1786520840744.png

I'm actually a bit curious about the reason for disabling the new K8s experience. Is there a specific issue you're running into?

 

@dylan_taelemans there can be reasons such as licensing, especially if applicationOnly deployment is used and only for a fraction of the cluster. The k8s app is licensed per pod hours and afaik current scope visibility cannot be limited.

Nn the other way - in SaaS the Kubernetes classic will eventually be removed. 

Dynatrace Ambassador | Alanata a.s., Slovakia, Dynatrace Master Partner

I’m not sure it will have as big an impact as expected. If you are using applicationOnly deployment - You’ll likely just move a significant part of the cost from Kubernetes Platform Monitoring to metric ingest.

If the goal is to eliminate the Kubernetes monitoring cost/monitoring, I would look into removing that capability from the activeGate section of your DynaKube:

capabilities:
  - kubernetes-monitoring

I’ve never tried this myself, as we always monitor Kubernetes through the applications, but I’m throwing it out there for discussion. 

This would mean that everything related to Namespaces, Workloads, pvc's, etc would no longer have any data.

 

Featured Posts