cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Correlating ObjectIds with EntityIds?

jphchan
Frequent Guest

Hi Everyone, 

I'm having some trouble understanding how to map an ObjectId with an EntityId... or am I not thinking about this correctly?  Here is the context:  I'm trying to programmatically enable/disable monitoring or changing the monitoring mode on various hosts.  I'm quite familiar with the APIs used for getting things, but I'm only beginning to look at the Settings API.  It looks like the Settings API works with ObjectIds, but retrieving hosts gives you EntityIds.  So, I can locate the hosts I want to manipulate, but ... I can't map it to the objectId that contains the settings I want to update.

Am I going about this all wrong?  Am I crazy to approach it this way??  

Thanks in advance,

Jeff.

9 REPLIES 9

Tiit_Hallas
Dynatrace Enthusiast
Dynatrace Enthusiast

If you're talking about the "/api/v2/settings/objects?schemaIds=builtin:host.monitoring" endpoint, then It seems that the items' ObjectID is base64-encoded bitmap-style object that includes the Entity name in it. I'm not sure about the full encoded payload, but if you remove the first 12 bytes and last 8 bytes, you'd get a TLV schemed data.

An example from the tenant "umsaywsjuo": 

ObjectId: vu9U3hXa3q0AAAABABdidWlsdGluOmhvc3QubW9uaXRvcmluZwAESE9TVAAQRjk5REE0RUUwQjAwRjkyRQAkOGNmNDZlMzAtYTcxNC0zMzYzLWE0MzgtNmI2Y2JjODJhNjAxvu9U3hXa3q0

Base64 decoded value: \xBE\xEFT\xDE\x15\xDA\xDE\xAD\x00\x00\x00\x01\x00\x17builtin:host.monitoring\x00\x04HOST\x00\x10F99DA4EE0B00F92E\x00$8cf46e30-a714-3363-a438-6b6cbc82a601\xBE\xEFT\xDE\x15\xDA\xDE\xAD

Extracted TLV values:
 - builtin:host.monitoring
 - HOST
 - F99DA4EE0B00F92E
 - 8cf46e30-a714-3363-a438-6b6cbc82a601

Looking at the Entities in the mentioned domain it seems to add up: https://umsaywsjuo.dev.dynatracelabs.com/ui/entity/HOST-F99DA4EE0B00F92E

I had a life once. Then I bought my first computer ...