cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dynatrace Managed: Back Up all Server Configuration Files before upgrading the Cluster

juanjo_garcia
Participant

Hi all.

 

We need ASAP the 'Dynatrace Cluster Upgrade' procedure backs up all server configuration files to be modified.

 

This would guarantee that in case the 'Dynatrace Cluster Upgrade Procedure' modified some of the Configuration Files (or even it was created from scratch) and that the change didn´t work for us , We would be able to restore it.

 

Regards.

 

3 REPLIES 3

DynatraceWolf
Visitor

Yes, by some reason and under some circunstances when upgrading, the Configuration Files, could be altered, and if you did not backup or maintain the configuration file on another server, could have a potencial risk to loose the configuration.

We have also experienced on the configuration of the oneagents, where the hostgroup, tenant token, etc parameters appear with no configuration.

 

So is a great idea, to also backup the config files and be able to restore.

 

Thanks in advance.

 

Radoslaw_Szulgo
Dynatrace Guru
Dynatrace Guru

Hey @juanjo_garcia 

This has already existed since I remember. Just look at the product binaries directory (by default: /opt/dynatrace-managed/backup). There are all the config files backed up from before the previous upgrade.

 

Additionally, you should rather not modify configuration files but the corresponding custom.properties files that we ensure persistence through the upgrade.

Senior Product Manager,
Dynatrace Managed expert

juanjo_garcia
Participant

Hi Radoslaw.

 

Indeed, you are totally right.

 

I´ve just seen that all Dynatrace Server configuration Files were backed up under the Directory: /opt/dynatrace-managed/backup when We carried out the last 'Dynatrace Cluster Upgrade'.

 

Thank you very much for your post.

 

Regards.