cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why are Dynatrace Oneagent dependencies installed on OpenShift host

bozic_bostjann
Newcomer

Hello,

I am completely new with Dynatrace environment and am still struggling with some concepts.

I am using OpenShift 4.5 to deploy Dynatrace Oneagent, using Dynatrace operator. Everything is running as intended, but what I do not understand is why are so many dependencies set up on underlying node (e.g. certificates, there are also quite some binaries set under `/opt/dynatrace/oneagent/agent/bin`)? Shouldn't those be part of image or in case of e.g. certificates mounted via configMap/secret?

Reason why I am asking this is since the idea of running OpenShift/Kubernetes on CoreOS type of OS is that there no dependencies set on underlying host and I am worries this might interfere with update process of OpenShift 4 platform.

Thank you and best regards,

Bostjan

7 REPLIES 7

Julius_Loman
DynaMight Legend
DynaMight Legend

Hi @Bostjan B.,

I assume you have deployed the OneAgent operator and it deployed the OneAgent via container on the nodes - probably the most common way on OpenShift. Files are put on the node to be able to inject code modules into other processes running in containers and on the host itself.

I'm not sure about your question regarding certificates, as they are not involved in the deployment of the OneAgent itself, but operator uses https connection to the Dynatrace API (either to the cluster or to the ActiveGate) to fetch the installers.
If the question stands for why there are some certificate filtes in the /opt/oneagent directories, then it's because the same OneAgent is also used for non-kubernetes platforms.

There are also more deployment strategies that are available with OneAgent Operator 0.8.0 such as automated runtime injection using admission controllers.

See more here:

Julius

Certified Dynatrace Master | Alanata a.s., Slovakia, Dynatrace Master Partner