cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Disable Monitoring

gilles_portier
Dynatrace Helper
Dynatrace Helper

Hi,

What does exactly do the "Disable Monitoring" feature :

- at the host level ?

- at the process level ?

Here it is written we have to restart the process (https://www.dynatrace.com/support/help/installation) but do we have to reboot the host if we disable monitoring at that level ?

Thanks

5 REPLIES 5

roman_spitzbart
Dynatrace Pro
Dynatrace Pro

Disabling at the host level will stop all monitoring - at a process level just code level insights for that process. In general if enabling monitoring required a restart of the process, so will disabling.

Hosts do not have to be rebooted for install so you can also remove the agents w/o reboot.

Karolina_Linda
Community Team
Community Team

Fixed the doc link 😉

Keep calm and build Community!

luc_douwen
Newcomer

An extra remark: when disabling monitoring it took 3 hours before the 'used licenses quota' got changed. But we did not have to reboot or restart processes.

We were resetting our trial license (#100) to our eternal license (#50), so we needed to be sure we were effectively using less than 50 licenses. The license change was done without problems.


Good call out. I too have seen that delay in the adjustments to license readings. I wish it was a bit faster.


I do think the toggles could be titled better. If you are brand new to Dynatrace, it can be confusing to see "Disable Monitoring". I would prefer to see "Disable RUM", etc.