cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I use DynaTrace to monitor calls to my APIs?

MarkAaron
Visitor

I am very new to DynaTrace.  I was under the impression I could use the tool to monitor calls to the many API endpoints my company supports.  For example, I'd like to see data on calls to:

https://MyCompany.com/ProxyService/search/advanced

I'm following the guidelines on this help page: https://www.dynatrace.com/support/help/platform-modules/digital-experience/synthetic-monitoring/http....   For some reason, DynaTrace calls these 'synthetic monitors.'  

I choose the "Create http monitor" option and fill in the details (HTTP POST, fill in the URL).  The next thing I'm presented with is a very confusing "Frequency and locations" screen.  I must have a fundamental misunderstanding of what I'm creating.  I simply want to monitor all calls to my API.  I don't care and/or see why I should be selecting "synthetic locations".  If anything, I would expect a monitor to be telling ME the location of a caller (an IP address, for example)

Perhaps I just don't understand what it is in DynaTrace that I really need to set up.  What I am after is sort of a honeycomb grid comprised of a list of API endpoints that I could take a quick look at by status (200, 403, 500, etc.) I just want to list the endpoints and let DynaTrace return whatever data it can for me.  This whole "synthetic location" thing seems like a red herring that really isn't relevant to my problem.

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide to this newbie.

10 REPLIES 10

DanielS
DynaMight Leader
DynaMight Leader